What is Important to Know About the New Personal Injury Protection Statutes in Florida?
We have new Personal Injury Protection (PIP) statute in the State of Florida. One of the things that is very important to know is a person involved in a car accident must receive a medical care within 14 days of the date of the accident. If an injured person does not receive medical care within 14 days of the accident, the insurance company will not provide personal injury protection or PIP benefits for that medical treatment.
The PIP statute also indicates that if you do not have an emergency medical condition, then the amount of your PIP benefits will be reduced from $10,000 down to $2500. So it’s very important that you get prompt medical attention and that you continue to receive treatment consistent with what your doctors prescribe.