Tampa Personal Injury Attorney Discusses How Long You Have to File a Claim
For most personal injury claims, you have four years from the date of the event within which to pursue a claim. There are exceptions to that. For example, if you are injured in a motor vehicle accident or a collision and the adverse driver has no coverage but you have underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, you have five years to bring that claim against your insurance company because that’s a contractual claim. Medical malpractice claims, which are also considered personal injury claims, there’s a two-year statute of limitations from the time that you knew or reasonably should have known. The same in product liability; claims are four years.
Get Our FREE Injury Guide and Videos
For most personal injury cases you have 4 years to pursue the claim
There are some exceptions to that rule
Medical malpractice claims have a 2-year statute of limitations
Are you unsure of when you have to file your claim for a personal injury case? If so, contact the experienced Tampa Personal Injury Attorney Betsey Herd.
This educational legal video was brought to you Betsey Herd, an experienced Tampa Personal Injury Attorney.
Out of Town Legal Resources
These New York Personal Injury Lawyers have done a great job creating educational content. If you need help with an injury claim in New York, we recommend you take a look at their website.
These Media Injury Lawyers have done a great job creating educational content. If you need help with an injury claim in Media, we recommend you take a look at their website.