Were you injured in a car accident? Don’t make these mistakes and ruin your injury case. Contact our Tampa attorneys for a free consultation.
First Steps After a Car Accident
The first things that an individual should do after getting involved in an auto accident is first of all make sure that the officials are notified, if you need medical care take an ambulance to the emergency room. You should take photographs of the vehicle involved in the accident, get the name and information of the other driver, get the names, addresses and phone numbers of any witnesses and basically take photographs of the scene of the accident.
Paying For Damages
In the state of Florida, everyone’s required to have property damage coverage. That doesn’t mean that everybody follows the law, however. If you are not at fault for the cause of the collision, often the adverse insurance company, the insurance company of the person who hit you, will accept responsibility and pay for your property damage. If that doesn’t happen or if there’s no coverage on the other side, then your car will have to be repaired out of your coverage. That would be your collision coverage if you have it. Many people aren’t aware that we’re not required to have that kind of coverage. If you don’t have it in the state of Florida, that’s something you need to have in order to protect yourself.
- If you are hit by a driver and it is his or her fault, the insurance company of that driver will usually accept responsibility
- If the other driver doesn’t have insurance you will have to repair your car from your insurance coverage
Partially At Fault
What ultimately is the measure of what a jury will consider, so if you’re partially at fault, you can still recover for that percentage of responsibility that is assigned by the jury to the defendant. For example, if you’re determined in a slip and fall accident for example to be 25% at fault and your damages are $100,000 as awarded by the jury, then you would be able to recover 75% of your damages or $75,000.
- You can still sue but you will subtract the amount of fault that you had for the accident from the money rewarded
- For example, if you were rewarded $100,000 and it was determined that the incident was 25% your fault, then you would earn $75,0000 not $100,000
Were you or a loved one injured in a car accident? Don’t make these mistakes and ruin your injury case. If so, contact our experienced Tampa Car Accident Attorneys to schedule your free legal consultation and case evaluation today.
Read Our FREE Car Accident Guide
Like us on Facebook