Why Is It Important To Receive Medical Attention Within 14 Days Of My Accident In Florida?
Sometime ago the personal injury protections statute in Florida what we call PIP changed. Under that new PIP statute if you do not receive medical care within 14 days of an accident and by that means emergency room, going to a medical doctor, a doctor of osteopathic medicine or a chiropractor, you will forfeit all of your PIP benefits. In other words you pay for $10,000 worth of PIP benefits if you do not receive treatment within 14 days of an accident, you will have zero PIP benefits. In addition, there’s a thing called an emergency medical condition, if it’s deemed that you have not suffered an emergency medical condition as a result of an accident your PIP benefits or PIP coverage will be reduced from $10,000 down to $2500 so it’s very important you receive competent medical care within 14 days after an accident here in Florida.
This informational blog post was provided by Dennis Morgenstern, an experienced Tampa FL Car Accident Lawyer.